Allergy Awareness Week · Vegan and Gluten Free Life by Amy

Adulting with Allergies, Amy – Allergy Awareness Week

For those of you who follow my blog you will know of Amy’s great recipes and vegan life, but you may not also be aware of Amy’s struggles as an adult living with allergies. I often talk about the journey being a parent of a child with allergies but not much is talked about those who are now an adult and still struggling to get help through the system. Amy has shared her struggles with us. 

IMG_0669

Whenever people find out that I’m vegan and gluten intolerant, people often look at me and say ‘wow, that must be difficult’. I truthfully reply with ‘yes it is’.

Being gluten intolerant is an absolute pain; literally at times. It affects my home life, as well as my social life. At home, my partner and I often cook separately, to avoid any potential cross-contamination from his food, through the preparation and cooking. I have my own chopping board and I have to make sure everything I use has not come into contact with anything containing gluten- even a crumb can make me seriously ill.

Eating out is not as bad as it once was; many restaurants and cafes now cater for gluten free vegans (we’re a bit of a niche).

I have not been officially diagnosed as Coeliac; the GPs who I have seen have given the impression that I’m putting my symptoms on, or I’m trying to join the gluten free ‘trend’. I can assure you, having my hair fall out, lips swell up and my skin becoming dry and flaky after being ‘glutened’ is not my idea of fun. Not to mention the crippling stomach cramps, nausea, fatigue and ‘stomach problems’.

IMG_0145

This is the problem many people I have spoken to have faced; the disbelief from their own GP. I’ve had two blood tests to test for Coeliac disease. Both of which have come back as satisfactory. Getting an appointment at my GP is the equivalent of finding a unicorn in my back garden. When I last went to my GP due to a suspected reaction to a flapjack- red face, difficult breathing, I was told to go back if the reaction flared up again. It did. I went back. Only to be greeted by the same doctor giving me a certain look which said ‘I don’t believe you’. Ever since then I have not been back. I try to keep my symptoms at bay by avoiding all gluten and scrupioulsy checking the labels on anything which I buy.

Being gluten free isn’t all bad. I have spoken to some amazing people who share my symptoms and who have made me realise that I’m not alone. The range of gluten free products has increased ten fold since I cut out gluten 5 years ago. Most of the gluten free bread which I can eat tastes like actual bread; not cardboard.

 

 

Amy has a great blog all about her wedding and will soon be married so i’m sure will be sharing more of her journey into married life on there to Click Here and check it out

Amy is a regular guest blogger here at Duck HQ so for more of her recipes and advice click here 

 

Leave a Reply

